Seoul, Korea – 15 December 2016, Gregg Daffner (CEO, GapSat) was elected and inaugurated as the President of ASCC at the 2016 APSCC General Assembly held on 13 December. As the main representative of APSCC, Gregg will be responsible for setting the policies and goals of APSCC in consultation with the APSCC Board of Directors, Vice Presidents and Executive Director.

At the General Assembly Gregg said, “I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the members of the APSCC for your dedicated support to the organization. APSCC will continue to develop a variety of programs to make APSCC a more relevant organization to the satellite industry. APSCC will undertake the lead in the core activities to represent the APAC satellite industry including regulatory advocacy, especially in matters of preserving satellite spectrum, and in attracting our next generation of satellite professionals.”

Gregg is CEO of GapSat, an innovative venture that leases or arranges for the lease of entire in-orbit satellites to satellite operators for use at their orbital slots for interim periods of time, generally until the operator launches its own custom-built satellite. Gregg is also president of G3 Global Communications, a satellite consulting firm focused on strategic planning, business development, transactional and regulatory advice. Previously Gregg co-founded and was president of Asia Broadcast Satellite (ABS). He is a former television producer and communications attorney who was the head of satellite services for Cable & Wireless Hong Kong Telecom, Vice President for PanAmSat and Lockheed Martin Corp, and Director of International Policy for the US Department of Commerce, National Telecommunications & Information Administration (NTIA) where he was instrumental in the promotion of private enterprise in space.

Gregg is a founding member and a Director serving since the inception of APSCC in 1994; the Chairman of the Cable and Satellite Broadcast Association of Asia (CASBAA) Satellite Wireless Action Group; a member of the Board of Governors and Secretary of the Pacific Telecommunications Council (PTC); and the Asian Attache for the Global VSAT Forum (GVF).

Also, at the General Assembly members of the APSCC Board of Directors for the 2017-2018 term were nominated and approved. The 15 members of the Board are:

  • Tom Choi, ABS
  • Richard Bowles, Arianespace
  • Baozhong Huang, APT Satellite
  • Thomas Carroll, ILS
  • Terry Bleakley, Intelsat
  • Peter Jeon, ktsat
  • Hiroshi Koyama, Mitsubishi Electric
  • Eddie Kato, New York Broadband
  • Deepak Mathur, SES
  • Kian Soon Lim, SingTel
  • Mitsutoshi Akao, SKY Perfect JSAT
  • Tom Ochinero, SpaceX
  • Daryl Mossman, SSL
  • Dani Indra, Pasifik Satelit Nusantara
  • Sandy Gillio, Thales Alenia Space

Under the leadership of the new APSCC Presdient and Board of Directors, APSCC will continue to promote communications and broadcasting via satellite as well as outer space activities in the Asia-Pacific region as a collective voice.

※ Note: To obtain relevant photos, please send email request to

APSCC (Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council) is a membership based non-profit international organization representing all sectors of satellite and space-industries including satellite service providers, manufacturers, launch service providers, risk management companies, broadcasters, and government organizations. APSCC membership is open to any organization involved in the satellite industry with interests in the Asia-Pacific. The overall objective of the APSCC is to promote communications and broadcasting via satellite as well as outer space activities in the region through conferences, forums, workshops as well as exhibitions.

Press Contact
Anna Kim
Director, APSCC
Tel: +82 31 783 6246