Phuket, Thailand, September 24, 2014 – The Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council (APSCC) announced the winners of its 11th APSCC Awards at the APSCC 2014 Satellite Conference & Exhibition at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, Phuket, Thailand.

As a collective voice representing the satellite industry of the Asia Pacific region, APSCC has made considerable effort to bring the various entities in the satellite community together for communication and cooperation. In this regards, each year APSCC recognizes outstanding organizations and individuals through the APSCC Awards to honor them for their collaboration, guidance and support in helping APSCC reach its mission as well as for their contribution to the satellite industry.

The APSCC Awards recipients this year were acknowledged for their innovations and achievements in the satellite industry, as well as their leadership in developing and expediting the distribution of new services via satellite in the Asia-Pacific region.

Recipients of the 2014 APSCC Awards:

Satellite Executive of the Year in Asia-Pacific Award
Suphajee Suthumpun, Chairman of the Executive Committee &CEO, Thaicom PLC

Suphajee Suthumpun was appointed CEO of Thaicom PLC on 1 August, 2011; and Chairman of the Executive Committee of Thaicom PLC on 1 January 2012. Prior to joining Thaicom, Suphajee had worked in leading positions with IBM for more than twenty years, where she was appointed ASEAN General Manager for Global Technology Services in January 2010. Suphajee holds a degree in International Finance and International Accounting, Northrop University, USA.

As CEO of Thaicom, Suphajee has implemented a total business review of all business operations of the Company and initiated a process to formulate a new strategic direction for Thaicom with a focus on placing Thaicom at the forefront of Asia’s satellite industry.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Peter Jackson, CEO, PJ Square

Peter Jackson retired from the position of Executive Chairman of AsiaSat on 31 July 2011 following 18 years with AsiaSat as CEO and Chairman. Mr. Jackson has over 32 years of international experience in the satellite and telecommunications industry with AsiaSat, Cable and Wireless and British Telecom. Prior to joining AsiaSat in July 1993, he was the Regional Director, Asia Pacific of Cable & Wireless. Mr. Jackson is a Non-executive Director of AsiaSat and serves on the investment committee of a Private Equity firm.

The 2014 APSCC Awards winners were selected by a committee of APSCC Officers based on nominations submitted by the members of APSCC. The 2014 APSCC Awards Committee Members are:

  • Richard Bowles (Arianespace)
  • Philip Balaam (Asiasat)
  • Ted MacFarland (Orbital Sciences)
  • Daryl Mossman (SSL)
  • Yutaka Nagai (SKY Perfect JSAT)
  • Seong Joong Kim (APSCC)

“This year, APSCC and the Awards Committee are pleased to honor the executives and veterans, who have taken the lead to enhance the satellite industry of the Asia Pacific region. These individuals selected by the APSCC Awards Committee are visionaries who have been in the lead in shaping the future of satellite and space community. Congratulations to the winners.” said Yutaka Nagai, President of APSCC in his congratulatory message given at the awards ceremony.

APSCC (Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council) is a membership based non-profit international organization representing all sectors of satellite and space-industries including satellite service providers, manufacturers, launch service providers, risk management companies, broadcasters, and government organizations. APSCC membership is open to any organization involved in the satellite industry with interests in the Asia-Pacific. The overall objective of the APSCC is to promote communications and broadcasting via satellite as well as outer space activities in the region through conferences, forums, workshops as well as exhibitions.