APSCC Hosts the 12th APSCC Awards:
Honoring outstanding achievements in the Asia-Pacific satellite industry

Seoul, Korea, September 22, 2015 The Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council (APSCC) announced the winners of its 12th APSCC Awards at the APSCC 2015 Satellite Conference & Exhibition held at COEX Seoul, Korea.

As a collective voice representing the satellite industry of the Asia Pacific region, APSCC has made considerable effort to bring the various entities in the satellite community together for communication and cooperation. In this regards, each year APSCC recognizes outstanding organizations and individuals through the APSCC Awards to honor them for their collaboration, guidance and support in helping APSCC reach its mission as well as for their contribution to the satellite industry.

The APSCC Awards recipients this year were acknowledged for their innovations and achievements in the satellite industry, as well as their leadership in developing and expediting the distribution of new services via satellite in the Asia-Pacific region.

Recipients of the 2015 APSCC Awards:

  • Satellite Executive of the Year in Asia-Pacific Award
    Samer Halawi, CEO, Thuraya Telecommunications Company

    Thuraya has delivered sustained, transformational growth since Samer Halawi’s appointment as Thuraya Chief Executive Officer in 2011. Since taking on the role of CEO, Samer has led Thuraya to achieve consistent double-digit annual growth.

    Samer had previously played a leading role in starting-up and growing a new venture in the digital space. This came after eight years of global strategy and running operations for the Middle East, Africa, and Asia Pacific at Inmarsat – with previous telecommunications roles at Flag Telecom and ICO Global Communications. Samer’s career started in the automotive industry, with both Chrysler Corporation and Ford Motor Company, before three years in investment banking.

    Samer holds an MBA from the University of Michigan and a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Yutaka Nagai, Advisor, APSCC

    Yutaka Nagai is Advisor of APSCC. He also served as the President of APSCC from 2010 to 2014.

    Mr. Nagai started his career at Nippon Telegraph & Telephone Public Corporation in 1971 and was engaged in research and development of satellite communications system. In 1986, he joined Japan Communication Satellite Company Inc. Then he developed his carrier from satellite operation to satellite engineering, business planning and business development. He continued to serve in various positions such as Vice President of NTT Satellite Communications Inc. in 1998, as President & CEO of Space Communications Corporation in 2008, as Senior Executive Vice President of SKY Perfect JSAT in 2008, and as Director of the Board of SKY Perfect JSAT Holdings Inc. in 2008.

    Through his extensive experience, Mr. Nagai provided a broad range of advice on all activities in engineering and operations of SKY Perfect JSAT’s communication and broadcasting business.

    Mr. Nagai received a Bachelor of Engineering from TOKYO University.

    The 2015 APSCC Awards winners were selected by a committee of APSCC Officers based on nominations submitted by the members of APSCC.

    “This year, APSCC and the Awards Committee are pleased to honor the executives and veterans, who have taken the lead to enhance the satellite industry of the Asia Pacific region. The honorees this year were chosen for contributions made to the satellite market in the region including innovative technologies, best practices and important services. Congratulations to the winners.” said Paul Brown-Kenyon, President of APSCC in his congratulatory message given at the awards ceremony.