Hong Kong, September 24, 2013 – The Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council (APSCC) announced the winners of its 10th annual APSCC Awards at the APSCC 2013 Satellite Conference & Exhibition at Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers, Hong Kong.

As a collective voice representing the satellite industry, APSCC has made considerable effort to bring the various entities in the satellite community together for communication and cooperation. Each year, APSCC recognizes outstanding organizations and individuals through the APSCC Awards to honor them for their collaboration, guidance and support in helping APSCC reach its mission as well as for their contribution to the industry. The awards this year were presented to individuals whose contributions and achievements have been deemed exceptional by the satellite industry and the Awards Selection Committee, consisting of industry experts.

Recipients of the 2013 APSCC Awards:

Ø Satellite Executive of the Year in Asia-Pacific Award – William David Wade, President and CEO, AsiaSat
Mr. William David Wade was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer on 1 August 2010 to lead AsiaSat with his title changed to President and Chief Executive Officer from 1 January 2011. Prior to assuming his role as Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Wade had served as AsiaSat’s Deputy Chief Executive Officer for 16 years.

Mr. Wade has over 26 years’ experience in the satellite and cable television industry. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honors) Degree in Communications from the University of Utah, and a Master of International Management Degree from Thunderbird (the Global School of International Management).

Ø Lifetime Achievement Award – Ali R. Ebadi, Senior Vice President, MEASAT
Dr. Ali R. Ebadi is the Senior Vice President, Space Systems Development of MEASAT and member of the Radio Regulations Board (RRB) of ITU. He has more than 30 years of experience in the field of Radio Engineering, Spectrum Management and Satellite Communications besides being actively involved in ITU’s activities.

He is a member of the Institution of Engineers Australia (IE Aust) as a Chartered Professional Engineer, a member of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (EIT) UK as a Chartered Engineer and a member of the Malaysian Institute of Engineers (IEM) as a Professional Engineer.

“This year, APSCC and the Awards Committee are pleased to honor the executives and veterans, who have taken the lead to enhance the satellite industry of the region. These individuals selected by the APSCC Awards Selection Committee are visionaries who have been in the lead in shaping the future of satellite and space community. Congratulations to the winners.” said Mr. Yutaka Nagai, President of APSCC in his congratulatory message given at the awards ceremony.